First battles of The 2020 Arenacross Tour

The much-antisipated opening round of The 2020 Arenacross Tour featured local winners, intense battles and hard-fought wins here at The SSE Arena, Belfast ahead of the interval.

First off the start gate was the Pro Lites, newcomer Fro Systems rider Brian HSU but the pressure applied by Frenchman Cedric Soubeyras proved too much and 2019 Champion took the win in Main Event One on his ASA United Husqvarna.

The Pro 450 class saw an aggressive race with Brit Matt Bayliss (Wooldridge Honda) taking the lead for the first few laps but was caught on the whoops by eventual Main Event One winner Charles Lefrancois on his SR75 Suzuki. Fellow Frenchman Thomas Ramette took the fastest lap, proving on point in his AX bid for glory riding for Offset CBD.

Following the first races behind closed doors, the Youth action featured an uncomplicated win from Ballyclare rider Charley Irwin in the Supermini Cup in front of a fiery home crowd! Winner in the Rookie Cup was Frenchman Axel Boldrini who held the lead for the full 10 laps with 2019 Champion Ben ‘Beanz’ Clayton in hot pursuit taking second.  The mighty Youth 65cc Cup riders saw Drew Stock triumphant with newcomer Dean Rudnik from Germany in second.

The All Ireland ended with a huge shakeup with the top four riders in the second Main Event disqualified meaning Ballyclare rider Paul Atkinson took the win from former All Ireland champion James Mackrel.

Rookie Cup Winner Axel Boldrini, Second Ben Clayton, Third Carl Ostermann
65cc Cup – Winner Drew Stock, second Dean Alexander Rudnik, third Robbie Daley
All Ireland Cup Winner – Paul Atkinson, Second Kevin Donnelly, Third Jake Hall