The 2018 Power Maxed Arenacross Tour Pro Lites championship provided close and exciting racing at each round, and every single competitor gave it his all to keep the AX crowds entertained.

In reality, the class was dominated by one rider; Joe Clayton (Team Green Holeshot Kawasaki) who won 11 of the 13 rounds completed. He didn’t always have it his own way though, as Chris Bayliss (Wooldridge Demolition) and Jason Meara (I-Fly JK Yamaha) kept him honest and hounded him all the way to the chequered flag. Bayliss was the victor in those two races where Clayton took the runners-up slot. Further down the field and, on occasion, upsetting the order of the top three by featuring on the podium, were Harry Kimber and Billy King. Scooter Webster and Joe’s younger brother Ben – in his first year in the Pro Lites – showed great pace and kept the testosterone-fuelled class fresh.

The ‘Lites’ provides a great stepping stone between Superminis and Pros, giving those riders in their late teens/early twenties the chance to show just what they can do and shine in front of Pro team managers and potential sponsors. And, taking full advantage of the opportunity, Clayton did just that, twice making it through to the Pro class Main Event at Belfast and then again at Sheffield, taking some high-profile scalps in the process. At Belfast he made it through on race craft and skill, then at Sheffield he was – by far – the people’s choice in the post-Head-to-Head AX Facebook vote.

Always smiling, and always grateful, Clayton senior said; “It’s been great to ride with such a well-respected team and the bike has been great. The power-to-weight ratio has suited me, and it’s been a big help to ride alongside, and learn from, Pros such as Adam Chatfield and Jack Brunell.”

Rumour is that, at the tender age of just 21-years, Joe is ready to join the big boys next year – watch this space!

AX BIRMINGHAM LR 82018 Pro Lites Championship

1. Joe Clayton, 256 points

2. Chris Bayliss, 225

3. Jason Meara, 207

4. Harry Kimber, 163

5. Scooter Webster, 163

6. Ben Clayton, 154

7. Billy King, 147

8. George Clarke, 141

9. Ben Burridge, 136

10. Josh Greedy, 128